Deathsleet

Reaper Bones 77110: Deathsleet

This is my first creature of this size, so I didn’t put tons of effort into making him look amazing.  I’m glad I chose the “tabletop” route, since he still took quite a bit of work.  I picked blue for… reasons.  The main one is that I already have a D&D prepaint of a huge white dragon.  I used the airbrush pretty extensively for the blue, including highlighting and shading.  The belly, claws and face details were the only things brushed on.  Deathsleet has a known problem with weak legs, so I pinned the end of his tail down.

I took Aaron Lovejoy’s Airbrush 101 class at ReaperCon, and he suggested using a “pop” color to keep the miniature from getting too boring – I chose a dark red which you can see on his wings and underneath some of his scales.

He was primed with RMS Blue Liner, then Badger Opaque Blue (this was too dark, and was covered with the next layer so there might not be any visible) then given a fairly solid RMS HD Dragon Blue coat (but purposely avoiding the deeper shadows), then a PP Glacier Blue highlight, with his head given extra layers of highlight to draw attention.  The chest scales are a thin coat of RMS Burnt Orange.  The claws and teeth are RMS HD Tusk Ivory, while the tongue is my favorite crazy color: VGC Warlord Purple.  The base is just coarse pumice paste mixed with VMC Ochre Brown.

DSC05505 DSC05511 DSC05513 DSC05516

DSC05523 DSC05526

Leave a Reply

