Amelial – Update 2

I looks like I missed an intermediate update on Amelial, but I’ve got all the colors blocked in and started working on some of the detailing. The darker purple is Vallejo Game Ink (Violet), while the lighter purples are RMS Amethyst Purple mixed with various grays to desaturate it. It is mixed with Alien Flesh on the wings and Dark Elf Skin on the body. The gray on the bodysuit is RMS Dark Elf Skin. Lining is either Nightshade Purple or Walnut Brown depending on what it’s next to. I am happy with the NMM on the body pieces (and the wings should be easy as well, but I’m waiting until they’re attached), but the sword is weird looking. Up close you can see obvious striping, but at arm’s length the blending should be fine. I hope it looks good enough because I don’t want to have to redo it. NMM is hard, and I don’t want to put in the effort yet to learn how to do it properly. I am painting for fun, and don’t want to spend lots of effort to learn something new right now. I know that pushing yourself is how you get better, but I’m actually fairly happy with the quality I’m putting out right now. So I’m planning on plateauing here for a while, and maybe work on my speed before I start working on my quality again.

DSC05543 DSC05546

DSC05549

Leave a Reply

