Josephine Lucero – Before and After

Reaper 02413: Josephine Lucero sculpted by Sandra Garrity.

Josephine Lucero was a miniature I purchased back around 2000 or so as a character for a D&D game. When I started painting miniatures as a hobby, she was one of the first I painted because I still had her sitting around. So she is probably my 2nd or 3rd miniature painted (I do not count high school painting attempts). This was about three years ago (Reaper got me hooked with a Paint and Take at PAX East 2012). I remember the dress in particular was Pro Paint Glacier Blue, since I had a pot of it from 2003 or so that was still more-or-less okay.

DSC06205   DSC06207

Fast forward to ReaperCon 2015. I was digging around the metal trade table when I spotted Josephine. I decided I would paint her up again in more-or-less the same colors, and got started right away (modulus lots of hanging out and chatting). I used some tips from Corporea’s Flesh and Faces class, as well as some new Scale 75 paints I picked up. Overall, I probably spent less time on Josephine 2.0 than I did back in 2012 (though I don’t really remember how long I spent back then).

DSC06211   DSC06214

Derek Schubert and some others gave me a few suggestions near the end of the con, but I decided that she would be a 100% “Painted at ReaperCon” miniature, and didn’t put those final touches on her, even though they would have been fairly easy to do.

P.S. And I just noticed… I forgot eyebrows. Grrr. I even noticed that she needed them multiple times. At least they’re sculpted on so she doesn’t look too weird without them.

Leave a Reply

