Khador Gun Carriage – Update 1

The Gun Carriage has some cool rules, and I like some aspects of the model, but hate other aspects.  I suppose horse-drawn is appropriate for Khador, but feels like such a let-down vs well… all the other battle engines.  But you know what would be cool?  A TANK.  Certainly a concept that has been done before, and it won’t leave me with a tournament-legal model (not like I ever intend to participate in any but the friendliest of tournaments), but totally worth it.

My friend Unit04 gave me some Warhammer 40K Imperial Guard vehicles a while ago, and this time I’m using the Leman Russ tank.  The biggest part I’m using are the tank treads, but I may also chop up the chassis to expand the gun carriage’s chassis.

Step one was to separate the sponsons from the chassis.  This was probably the single most critical step, since I needed to preserve all three pieces in good condition.  I ordered a .01″ thickness razor saw from Amazon which did the trick wonderfully.  It only took a little Milliput to hide the work on the chassis.  The sponsons were attached to the Leman Russ treads with superglue, then gaps filled with more Milliput.  Finally, the chassis was attached to the treads.

20160524_201640 20160524_201653

Next steps are to sand the Milliput and clean up around the sponsons.

Here are some pictures with various pieces attached with tacky putty, and a mock-up of the rear chassis I’ll have to build.  Smoke-stacks will be toothpaste caps.

20160524_202820 20160524_202845

Leave a Reply

