So about ReaperCon…

Since last ReaperCon, I’ve focused mostly on improving the speed at which I can paint figures to a tabletop standard, and I’ve mostly been painting miniatures at that level.  Last ReaperCon (18 months ago) my plan was to paint something just for ReaperCon, at the highest quality I could do.  While that’s still a noble goal, and the probably the best way to judge my maximum skill level, I just don’t see myself having fun doing that, and having fun is the entire point of painting for me.  That means I’m not planning on finishing that elf bust in the next month.  I’m still planning to bring something to ReaperCon, but I won’t be aiming for a Silver.  I’m unsure of which minis I should bring, but everything I’ve painted at tabletop level has some definite shortcuts that will lose me big points with the judges (one of the things I learned from previous years is that your mini must be consistently high quality, not just high quality in one or two areas and decent elsewhere).  So I’ll just grab 2-3 minis where I think I did a consistently decent job and submit those.  Honestly, I think the best minis I painted since ReaperCon were exchange minis that are now in someone else’s hands.  Because I’ve been painting lots of Warmahordes, I will probably bring a few of those.

Leave a Reply

